Packing my bags – a week in the south-west

Next week I’m disappearing off on a little British adventure to go and visit some friends from university, just because I can (and I’m bored!). First things first, I’m heading back to Cardiff for a few days, my beautiful home from home, then going into the unknown and visiting Devon and Bristol for the rest of the week. It’s safe to say I’m super-duper excited for this, mainly because a) I get to hang with all my uni buddies I haven’t seen since we graduated in July and were released into the big bad world, and b) I get to go to places I’ve never been to before. Just to show how excited I am, I’ve already packed my bag. This is coming from a girl who went to live in France for a month and packed that morning. I’m that excited.

I thought I’d share what I’ve packed for a week of adventuring, just because I like snooping at other people’s stuff so I assume you’re the same, right?

DSCF25892

(Apologies for the awful photo quality! I’m using a broken camera lead/cheap pos camera/pure laziness/dark bedroom floor kind of excuse)

1.  Massive Rucksack

I’ve just invested in this canvas beauty (courtesy of the wonder of eBay) and I can’t wait to try it out. For starters, it can fit a week’s worth of clothes in without me looking like a snail or a Year 7, so what’s not to love? Also, rucksacks are infinitely easier for popping on and off trains, and you know that you’ll never suffer the guilt of squashing an innocent traveller’s foot with a suitcase wheel.

2. Reading material

Seeing as I’ll feel like I’m spending half my life on trains, it’s so important to have enough to read. I always take a National Geographic, because who doesn’t like mind-blowing photography? I’ve also got a Kindle packed with all the classics – although I can definitely say I prefer reading old-school ink and paper, having an entire library in your pocket is marvellous. I’m also reading Bill Bryson’s Neither Here Nor There for about the fifth time. It’s a travelogue of his adventure around Europe in the 90’s, made even more brilliant by his wonderful humour and writing style.

3. Half my wardrobe

Because I’ll be doing lots of things this week, whether it’s walking round town, going out for drinks or getting fresh air in the countryside, it’s a bit of a wardrobe nightmare. The solution is to pick a selection of tops and bottoms that all co-ordinate and can be interchangeable, than add some key pieces to add a bit of pizazz.

4. Camera

It goes without saying really.

5. The essentials 

It’s so easy to attempt to take the entire bathroom cabinet, but I’ve wittled it down to only the absolutely necessary. For the face: BB cream, powder, eyeliner, mascara, eyebrow pencil, and eyeshadow. For the rest of me: toothbrush, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, moisturiser, hand cream, deodorant, hairbrush. It’s times like these that those free perfume samples in tiny bottles really come into their element!

6. Purse

My Dad always says that if you’ve got your toothbrush, some pants and some money you’ll be absolutely fine! This may be a bit minimalistic, but quite true. Although I definitely have to add my railcard to the list, because the thought of forgetting it and having to empty my bank account to a grumpy ticket inspector makes me want to weep – clearly I have been traumatised from past experience!

7. Train snacks

These aren’t on the photo, but to avoid extortionately high prices and the risk of getting grumpy, I always make sure I’ve got an unhealthy amount of food stashed about my person. If the apocalypse strikes, I’m the person to come to!

Leave a Reply

